Plugging in the Wabac Machine…LOL

Posted On July 26, 2012

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped leave a response

Dual Spec FTW! Best 1K Gold I ever spent.

  • Sep. 1st, 2009 at 4:32 PM
tank, bear, feral

For all intents and purposes I wasn’t going to replace my Boomkin spec and go Tree Heals with the second part of my Dual Spec until Level 70 (once I hit Northrend) but as it turns out, I did at Level 63. Who knew?

I have always thought of Druids as the red-headed step-kid of the Warcraft family, to be honest, a jack-of-all-trades-but-master-of-none type, which was part of the appeal to me: I wanted to do EVERYTHING. I wanted to Tank and Melee DPS and Ranged Caster DPS and Heal and playing a Druid character allows me to do all of that, dependent on how I’m specced for that particular day, and not only that, do all four WELL. Atually, like any Ranged DPS, I really wanted to Tank (like any actor I wanted to direct…lol) or Melee DPS or SOMETHING other than stand waaaaaay back from the action and drop bombs on it. Having played a Hunter all the way up from Level 1, I needed the change.

To be honest, I had been feeling a little out of sorts with my Druid because it seemed that up to Level 58 that there wasn’t a lot of demand for a tanking Feral Druid. Razorfen Downs and Scholomance, it seemed, were better tanked by Paladins (with their buff against Undead) and other instance runs like Sunken Temple seemed to do better with Warriors than Druids (because of the Warrior’s wide-range AoE Taunt). Rolling a Druid, it had appeared, was looking like it might’ve been a wasted role as I was relegated to, you guessed it, Ranged Caster DPS (OOMkin FTW!).

Turns out I’m more in demand for Burning Crusade content than I thought, which ain’t a bad thing. Typically it’s not more than 5 minutes after I log in on Dreddnought, and someone is messaging me asking if I’d like to run HP: Ramparts or HP: Blood Furnace, or Coilfang: Steam Vaults or Coilfang: Slave Pens, or even Auchindoun: Mana-Tombs. I’ve been getting runs on a consistent basis (translation: If they were Dailies, I’d be making MAD BANK) through HP: Ramparts and HP: Blood Furnace as a tank and CR: Steam Vault and CR: Slave Pens as a healer and it’s been a LOT of fun so far. I’ve finally found a Race and Class that I enjoy playing that can do what I want it to, and that’s deal goodly amounts of damage while keeping clothies from tanking and also spread the love and keep people alive. I think I’m going to apply to be a contributing member of Angry Healers on WordPress though. I’ve only been healing for a little while but I think I get EXACTLY what they’re talking about.

There’s only so much I can do as a Hunter and quite frankly, it’s kinda depressing when the only action you seem to get is from folks that want shit to die quickly because you bring 3.4K – 3.6K DPS to any given situation. I’m tired of getting asked to come into an instance for one boss, not having other DPS that can keep up and then getting locked to that particular instance after one pull. It had gotten to the point where I was deliberately trying to avoid playing my Hunter except for times when I KNEW no one was on in Guild (translation 4AM…) so that sort of thing wouldn’t happen. I still LOVE playing my Hunter and I’ll farm mats and pug 5-man instances ALL DAY LONG, but getting pulled in for 10-man and 25-man raids for one boss before it all goes to shit is just not fun. Those of you out there that play a pure DPS class like Mages, Warlocks and Hunters will know what I mean. We are there for one reason, and one reason only: to do shit-tons of damage in as little time as possible so that runs go faster. That’s it, that’s all. I’ve been in so many raids where if there isn’t a Hunter or Mage or Warlock at the top of the damage meters, the Raid Leader is going around whispering each one of us: “What’s wrong? Where’s the DPS? STFU and bring it, n00b! WTF did you get your account? eBay?” and man, I tell ya, there’s no days off.

This was the major reason I decided to level lowbies again instead of sitting around looking for Heroic runs on my Hunter.

Leave a Reply

