Alternative Reforging…

Posted On February 27, 2012

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped leave a response

I want to apologise to everyone. Two posts in one day while the blog has gone neglected for months on end is not acceptable posting, I know, but I’m working on it. I’m basically trying to muddle stuff out in my head, and I’m taking all of my readers (all 5 of you…yeah, you…) along for the ride. I apologise, I know it’s selfish, but that’s me. So I hit up http://askmrrobot.com the other day, loaded up my spec (it does recognize that it’s a Bear build now, apparently) and this is what I got after mucking around with the reforging: Hit capped (8.03%), almost Expertise capped (23), and rocking 37.3% Dodge in Bear. After all of that, I’m almost wonder if Dreddnought (Horde-Mug’Thol) hadn’t picked up the wrong set of gear at some point. I mean Tanks aren’t supposed to be Hit or Expertise capped, right? The majority of people that I’ve played with say “Oh, you don’t need to be hit or expertise capped or anything remotely close to capped, they upped your threat to 500% so it’s lolfacetank now!” but after seeing @Reesify (http://theincbear.com) put up a number of tweets about the Thrash debuff not being applied correctly because she wasn’t expertise capped, trying to grief her about it over Twitter and getting shot down, it got me to thinking. This is never a good thing. So with a little pen and papery goodness and some unused maths dredged up from the corners of my mind, and a little reforgeration, I ended up with those stats. Hopefully I’ll have a chance to try my hybrid build soon and we’ll see where it goes. In the mean time, my healers say (and Gods bless ‘em, they’re awesome) that my Bear is easier to heal than ever and they still can’t figure out how the Paladin goes squish while I survive, so maybe the gearing strat I’m going with isn’t all wrong. In all seriousness though, as I’ve pointed out in almost every other post, I’m NOT a theory-crafter, and I’m not an expert, just a player trying to navigate through the rules that the Devs have set up. A lot of my success is through following the work that others have done before me. I’ll never be math-y enough or dedicated enough to hang with the really cool kids, but every once in a while I get to Raid with a few of ‘em and it’s all good fun (you know who you are).

Leave a Reply

