You’re not as big of a deal as you might think…

Posted On July 13, 2011

Filed under Randoms

Comments Dropped leave a response

How does one deal with crises, real or imagined? How does one deal with the impression that you are, at least in your own eyes, failing? What happens when some folks’ interests and the path they choose take them away from the path you thought you had chosen for yourself? Do my efforts really make a difference or not? Does anyone, besides me, really care? Where do I go now, and what can I do?

These are all valid questions, and ones that will eventually need to be answered, but the answers may not be the ones that you’d like. Very often the crises we face are only in our own minds. That piece of gear, this gemming choice, 3 Guilds in 3 months, all your raiding experience is on another server, you don’t have the achievements you should for the gear that you have, etc, etc, etc. I’m not saying that these concerns aren’t valid, but realistically? Yeah, they don’t matter THAT much.

In the grand scheme of things, these are about as important as a fart in a windstorm. It’s not the stench that’ll kill you, it’s the plywood and debris that you’re ignoring because you’re so wrapped up in your own fart that probably will.

I’ve been playing this game for a while now. I started playing during The Burning Crusades and through Wrath and into Cataclysm. I’ve been in a few different Guilds in that time, starting with leveling in “Dude Spooning” and “Harry’s Adventure Co” and “Legion”, got my first real taste of raiding in “Flagrant”, my first taste of progression in “Shadow Council”, “Scumdogs of Azeroth”, “Infinite Destruction” and “Causa Nex”, my own bank alts in “Functioning as Intended” and “Gold Diggaz”, the “small Guild” experiment that was “Deal With It”, “God of War” and currently “Two Kings”. This is on my PvP server only. I also play on an RP server, but have only ever been in one Guild there, and that’s “Stormwölves”.

I suppose, after a while, you kind of get tired of Guild-hopping. There does seem to be an ebb and flow to player Guild movement, however, and as people follow friends and move around, old Guilds die and new ones are born that, funnily enough, have all the same faces as the old one. Soon enough you get into that whole “Why are we re-levelling another Guild when the old one was already so advanced and who’s that new guy, I’ve not raided anything with most of these people, oh, look, Dave’s got his new Guild, we should join him there and let’s bring so-and-so from such-and-such and remember that guy we used to run with let’s get him too and hey…”, new Guild name, same faces…wtf?

Yes, I realize it’s a game. It’s an MMORPG, and people will come and go, get married, have kids, lose jobs, fall in love, fall out of love, go overseas, and what have you, and player movement is to be expected. You build relationships in games like this, whether you intend to or not, and a good part of your interactions in game are based on those. You leave Guilds to follow friends, you run into toons you leveled alts with, sometimes catch people coming back to the game after a year off, or run into more folks that you had no idea played that you know in real life.

But what happens when those relationships affect your satisfaction with the game?

What if moving around as frequently as some do affects your love for Warcraft?

I think I’ve almost reached a tipping point. I’m hoping to find a large Guild that will be stable and around for a while that I can just hide in for a bit. Just sit in a corner and not take up too much space and not draw attention to myself. Maybe level a few more alts so I have all 10 classes at 85 and 20 different specs.

We’ll see what the next few weeks bring. Happy Hunting!

Leave a Reply

