Why I Do What I Do…or “Prescription, please!”

Posted On October 26, 2010

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped 2 responses

Having played a Hunter, Warlock, Warrior, Paladin, Shaman, Rogue, Priest, Death Knight and Druid, I know a few things about a lot of stuff and not a lot of stuff about few things. I get class mechanics and how they’re supposed to function, but there are mindset changes that take place every time I enter an instance, dependent on my role.  I know exactly where a lot of folk are coming from with regards to the whole “HIT MEEEEEEE!” side of Tanking being a change, trust me…a really geared Warlock friend is finding out what it’s like on a Death Knight, Blood Tanking and I think, as DPS, it a VERY good thing to see how the other toons live. You can DPS or Heal on whatever toon you want, but EVERY DPS and Heals has to Tank. It’s something I really do believe in.  I also believe that every Tank should have to Heal and DPS, and every Heals should have to DPS and Tank. Ain’t no doubt about it.

Quite frankly, I think, in order to consider yourself a well rounded player you have to have done each and every role (Ranged DPS, Melee DPS, Tank, Healer) to at LEAST level 60 to decide if you really like it or not. None of this 1 dungeon and done crap. Get Dual Spec as soon as it’s available and start running dungeons as Melee DPS and Tank on your toon of choice (Death Knight, Druid, Paladin, Warrior) and see where it goes from there. This is gonna sound funny, but I credit another Warlock for getting me interested in Tanking mainly because she made it seem like so much FUN! and believe me, at times, it really is. 

You may, once you start to do it and not just to say “Yeah, I’ve done it” but to seriously make a Tanking Set for just that purpose, find that you have an aptitude for it.  Heck, I know I did, and not to toot my own horn, but I have heard and been told on many occasions that it’s darn nigh impossible to pull a MoB off me once I get aggro sealed in, and that it’s a wonder I don’t have king Slayer yet, but that’s another post for another time.

There’s a LOT going on that requires multiple levels of attention while Tanking, including watching Healer and DPS aggro, as well as patrols that really appeals to me. I like being active mentally while playing this game we call WoW and to be honest, while DPS is still hella fun now that I’ve taken a break from it, Tanking, for me, is where it’s at.

2 Responses to “Why I Do What I Do…or “Prescription, please!””

  1. selenium

    i hunter tanked once. does that count? XD all jokes aside, i WILL tank one day, and although the idea may give you goosebumps now, i’m sure everyone thought i couldn’t heal either, and i’d like to think i’m at least decent with my heals. =P

    i like how you mentioned being active MENTALLY while playing WoW. funny that i want to comment on this one little point, and i’ve been meaning to for a while. what are your thoughts about raiding with people who are obviously not entirely there mentally? (i’m not trying to pick a fight)

    • Dreddnought

      All in all, I prefer people that are “all there” and this means not drunk or stoned…

Leave a Reply

