Now for a spot of HEALING!

Posted On January 12, 2010

Filed under Randoms

Comments Dropped 2 responses

Thanks, Miss Medicina!

Yes, this is a Tank’s blog, but it’s also a Tree’s blog too.  Seeing as I’m dual-spec, I do both and occasionally I’ll even post about both.

What is the name, class, and spec of your primary healer? Dreddnought, Druid, Resto.

What is your primary group healing environment? (i.e. raids, pvp, 5 mans) Mostly 5-mans, some 10-mans, and the occasional 25.

What is your favorite healing spell for your class and why? This is a toss up, but it’s between Lifebloom and Rejuv currently…I don’t know why.  I think, actually, I’m gonna say Lifebloom.  If I let it run out and the last tick crits, there’s an instant heal on the target the next time it gets hit (yay Living Seed!).

What healing spell do you use least for your class and why? Healing Touch.  I have a decent amount of Haste (OK, only 337 Haste…so sue me) but a 2.32 second cast is still too long to wait for it to bomb off on a Tank.

What do you feel is the biggest strength of your healing class and why? Mobility.  I have the ablility to get where I need to be and can handle almost any healing task needed in a raid.  If there happen to be individuals taking damage who are out of range of the other Healers, I can toss a few HoTs on them and return my attention to where it is most needed.

What do you feel is the biggest weakness of your healing class and why? Lack of instant burst healing.  I have Nature’s Swiftness on a 3 minute Cooldown and maybe Living Seed if Lifebloom Crits.

In a 25 man raiding environment, what do you feel, in general, is the best healing assignment for you? Raid healing is where I’m most comfortable.  I have Tank healed before, but Raid is what’s best for me.

What healing class do you enjoy healing with most and why? This is gonna sound wierd.  Holy Paladins. Why? Because HE GETS THE TANKS and I get EVERYONE ELSE! This is absolutely perfect for me because it’s 2 people I can take off my “To Heal” list.

What healing class do you enjoy healing with least and why? Druids. Don’t get me wrong, I think there are some AMAZING Druid Healers out there (Pyo!) but a lot are the lazy “I’m so OP I’ll just HoT the Tank, he’ll be fine” kind.  I hate ’em because it gives the rest of us a bad name…

What is your worst habit as a healer? AoE heals when there are only one or two people who need heals or when everyone is topped off.  Sorry, but I LOVE dancing numbers…I’m especially bad about this with Wild Growth.  I’ll toss one out for no apparent reason…lol.

What is your biggest pet peeve in a group environment while healing? People that bitch that my Heals per Second are low.  I got bitched at for only doing 2.4K HpS on the Val’kyr Twins in ToC-25, but we all lived.  For some reason I’ve never been able to top the Healing charts in Raids, but everyone seems to live…wierd that, and it’s not a case of being carried if we’re 4 healing ToC-25, is it?

Do you feel that your class/spec is well balanced with other healers for PvE healing?  Sorta-kinda. Paladins have one up on me in that they are better single target healers and shammy’s have Chain Heal which is just BEAST in Raids but I’ve run ToC-25 with 2 Druids, a Shammy and a Holy Paladin and had, I think, the most fun. Paladin got Tanks, Shammy got melee, and we Druids got the other 17…

What tools do you use to evaluate your own performance as a healer? Who’s alive? Who died? Were they in my group? How did they die? Was it preventable? If the answers are almost everyone, almost no one, no, fire, no, then I’ve done my job correctly.

What do you think is the biggest misconception people have about your healing class? We always top the healing charts.

What do you feel is the most difficult thing for new healers of your class to learn? A proper Healing rotation and the proper use of Nourish.  It took me a while too, but new Tree Healers will often forget that bonus that Nourish has (+20% heals per HoT on target) when Tank healing in 5-mans.  If you’re rolling Rejuv, Lifebloom, Wild Growth and Regrowth on your Tank and he pulls General Bjarngrim while he’s charged, you’re going to be glad they’re there, and the rising green numbers look oh so pretty…I was once with a Druid who was learning the ropes in, of all places, Heroic Halls of Reflection who was having a few issues, so I swapped specs and ran a quick tutorial on him (Rejuv, Lifebloom (just 1 stack), Wild Growth, Regrowth, then Nourish spam until Lifebloom went off and Living Seed procced, and the first thing he asked was, “Dude, was that a Healing macro?” I explained that it was not a Healing macro but rather some button pushing. “Oh,” said he, “I click…” *shudder*

If someone were to try to evaluate your performance as a healer via recount, what sort of patterns would they see (i.e. lots of overhealing, low healing output, etc)? Top overhealer most likely.  I like to top people off and see them topped off but my overall healing output is low.  I am trying to break that habit by repeating the mantra: “If you don’t need heals, I will not heal you.”  This means that I will have mana in reserve should the need arise, as opposed to the Druid who’s over there in the corner bombing off Nourish spam on an already topped off tank hoping to beat the Paladin to the punch when it comes to healing the tank, but it also makes my HpS look low.

Haste or Crit and why? Haste.  I have gemmed and enchanted for nothing but Spell Power because my gear alone gets me to 23% crit and 337 Haste (14% faster cast speed? Yes please!) but I’d rather be able to get heals out there faster.

What healing class do you feel you understand least? Definitely Holy Priests, and I am working very hard to amend that.

What add-ons or macros do you use, if any, to aid you in healing? I don’t in 5 and 10 mans. I’m what they refer to as “old school.”  When I first started healing I didn’t use Healbot because it just didn’t feel right to me, but I will concede to using Healbot in 25 mans on occasion.

Do you strive primarily for balance between your healing stats, or do you stack some much higher than others, and why? My main goal, at this point, is to get as geared as possible with as much SP and Haste as possible.  I have enough crit through gear so for now I’m stacking SP because mana regen is not a problem with Innervate.

2 Responses to “Now for a spot of HEALING!”

  1. Pyoska

    YaY Trees! =D

  2. dreddnought

    Hee hee hee! Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

